Simple White Noise Oscillator [tutorial]

I always wanted to make a white noise oscillator that is simple and powerful using easily found components in Indonesia. I received a schematic from a friend of mine Lintang Kenalirangkaipakai (he didn’t create it, he found it from the internet) and give it a try to see how it sounds. I have seen this schematic when I’m surfing the internet, however I never give it a try or maybe I was too lazy :P. The schematic is very simple, only using several part that in total cost you less than Rp.10.000,- and you can get it in any electronic store in your city. Since I like it, I thought I share it along with a PCB design, EagleCAD board and schematic files and layout so anyone can use it. Or you could just prepare your breadboard (like I did) if you’re not convinced with the sound on the video and want to check it out on yourself. :)

Part List:

  • IC LM386
  • 2N3904 (transistor)
  • 10K potentiometer
  • 100K potentiometer (i used 250K and it’s okay, 100K is more recommended tho)
  • 10K resistor 1/4 or 1/2 Watt
  • 0.1uF (104) capacitor
  • 10uF capacitor
  • 220uF capacitor
  • on/off switch
  • 9V battery
  • 3.5 mm mono jack audio

 

Schematic:

white noise osc LM386 schematic

 

PCB board layout:
White Noise Oscillator LM386 PCB layout

 

PCB print (inverted)

White Noise Oscillator LM386 PCB print

Download PCB Eagle Board File

Download Eagle Schematic File

Some Pics:

One thought on “Simple White Noise Oscillator [tutorial]

Leave a Reply

