carp2dragon [performance] @ Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam for Carp2Dragon [residency]

One of my part of Carp2Dragon residency at Ho Chi Minh City is to do a performance and a presentation in one night at “I’m Yours Cafe”. The night was divided by two session, mine and Crazy Monkey (VN), a VJ from Ho Chi Minh City that was doing his session after mine. I started my session with a presentation to introduce myself and my activities in Indonesia which then later, followed by a short audiovisual performance to close my session.

i'm yours cafe - carp2dragon

Some of the DIY synths that I used are made by Lintang Raditya, also known as Kenalirangkaipakai, a custom synth maker based in Yogyakarta. Other synths is modules I build myself while I was exploring simple and basic DIY electronic synthesizers. For the visuals, I still using my old Pure Data patches. :P

After my session, it was Crazy Monkey (VN) turn, he invited Ricky Babay Janitras (ID) and me to do some sound while make visual. So we did a jamming session, Ricky with some composition he made, some sound from my hardware with Crazy Monkey’s visual. After the jamming session, Crazy Monkey give a short presentation of his activities as VJ where he did visuals for various events in Ho Chi Minh City.

squaresolid babay crazy<br />
monkey - collaborative performance carp2dragon 01

Documentation: photo by Tao Tron, Haianh Tran. video by Hipster Van Tranh

3 thoughts on “carp2dragon [performance] @ Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam for Carp2Dragon [residency]

  1. Pingback: square[noise~] DIY synth making [workshop] for Carp2Dragon [residency] | andreas siagian

  2. Pingback: vo[ID~]null: one night of experimental music – Independent Archive and Resource Center (IARC), Singapore | andreas siagian

  3. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a
    lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.

    I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a
    little bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog.
    An excellent read. I’ll certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

