[instrument] Naniwa So Shi (Story From Osaka) Synthesizer

naniwaSOSHI

Naniwa So Shi mini sythesizer

A week ago, my good friend Geger gave me a tin box when we were cleaning his house. The box is a packaging for some sweets from Osaka Japan. My friend Sachiko translate the writing on the box. It says “Naniwa So Shi”, which means Story/Journey from Osaka. I really like the design, and how light the box is. So I decided to use it as the case for my mini analog synth.

naniwa so shi - story from osaka synth by squaresolid - original

The pic above is how the box looks like in the beginning. I took a synthesizer design from Music From Outer Space, called WP-20 Noise Mini-Synth. It’s an old school 70’s synth design, and I like how it sounds. So I did a little modification on the synth design and started to build my Naniwa So Shi Synth. The original instruction on how to buld WP-20 can be found here.

naniwa so shi - story from osaka synth by squaresolid - pcb

First thing first, make the PCB. Solder the components and make it as neat as I can. I enjoyed soldering the modul, it isn’t very difficult and I think the difficulties require medium to advance soldering skill.

naniwa so shi - story from osaka synth by squaresolid - the circuit

A bit blurry pic above, but that’s how the circuit looks like when it finished. It took me only an hour to assemble it all. But then things got more complicated when I have to put it in the box.

naniwa so shi - story from osaka synth by squaresolid - inside look

Yes the wiring is a bit tough. It took me 3 hours to solder all those wires. It’s a love and hate relationship between me and wires. I love them, but I felt it’s a bit too much when it’s too much of them.

naniwa so shi - story from osaka synth by squaresolid - need knobs

Assemble it all properly. Did some test and it works out nice! The final result of my Naniwa So Shi Synth is the first pic in this post. At the moment, I always using this synth for my performance.

naniwa so shi - story from osaka synth by squaresolid

Leave a Reply

